Cost Per Mille (CPM) is a cost-efficiency metric used by digital marketers when measuring performance of digital campaigns. It measures the cost of showing an ad to 1,000 people. CPM is calculated by dividing the total amount spent on an advertising campaign by the number of impressions received, multiplied by 1,000.
Cost Per Mille (CPM) = ( Advertising Spend / Number of Impressions ) x 1,000
If your advertising spend is $10,000 and you receive 2,000,000 impressions, your CPM is $5.00.
Advertising spend | $10,000 |
Number of Impressions | 2,000,000 |
Cost Per Mille (CPM) | $5.00 |
The easiest way to track CPM across all advertising platforms, advertising channels and campaigns, is to use a measurement solution like Sellforte, which consolidates all digital data into one platform, and pre-processes the data for easy analysis (for example conducts campaign grouping). Below are examples of tracking views from the Sellforte demo.
Ad Platform-level CPM analysis:
Advertising channel -level CPM analysis:
CPM is one of the efficiency metrics in the Media Metric funnel. Media Metric funnel is an abstraction of consumers' buying journey:
In this funnel, CPM is an efficiency metric for impressions. Other similar efficiency metrics in the funnel include Cost Per Click (CPC), Cost Per Conversion, Return On Ad Spend (ROAS).
CPM is used in digital media buying, as well as in analyzing performance of digital advertising.
CPM is reported to the digital marketer by the ad platform where the campaign is executed. For example, if you're running a Google Performance Max campaign, Google Ads is collecting data on impressions, spend and CPM.