Cost Per Click (CPC) is a metric used by digital marketers to assess the cost-efficiency of their digital advertising campaigns. It reflects how much you pay for each click on your ad. CPC is calculated by dividing the total amount spent on a campaign by the number of clicks received. This metric helps determine whether marketing efforts are delivering value for money.
Cost Per Click (CPC) = Advertising Spend / Number of Clicks.
If your advertising spend is $10,000 and you receive 5000 clicks, your CPC is $2.00.
Advertising spend | $10,000 |
Number of Clicks | 5,000 |
Cost-Per-Click | $2.00 |
While CPC can be tracked using Ad Platform's own dashboards, the easiest way to track CPC across all platforms, is to use a measurement solution like Sellforte, which consolidates all digital data into one platform. Below are examples of tracking views from the Sellforte demo.
Ad Platform-level CPC analysis:
Advertising channel -level CPC analysis:
CPC is a cost-efficiency metric in the Media Metric funnel. Media Metric funnel is an abstraction of consumers' buying journey:
Cost-efficiency metrics in the funnel include: Cost Per Mille (CPM), Cost Per Click (CPC), Cost Per Conversion, Return On Ad Spend (ROAS).
Performance ratios in the funnel include: Click-Through Rate (CTR), Conversion Rate, and Average Order Value.
CPC has several use-cases in buying digital media, as well as analyzing its effectiveness
Several elements can affect your CPC, including: the level of competition in your industry, the keywords you’re targeting, your bid amount, the characteristics of your target audience, and so on.
CPC is reported to the digital marketer by the ad platform where the campaign is executed. For example, if you're running a Google Performance Max campaign, Google Ads is collecting data on clicks, spend and CPC.
Lauri Potka is the Chief Operating Officer at Sellforte, with over 15 years of experience in Marketing Mix Modeling, marketing measurement, and media spend optimization. Before joining Sellforte, he worked as a management consultant at the Boston Consulting Group, advising some of the world’s largest advertisers on data-driven marketing optimization. Follow Lauri in LinkedIn, where he is one of the leading voices in MMM and marketing measurement.